Margo Chase

October 25, 2010 at 2:36 AM 2 comments

Margo Chase made an appearance at CSUN, and everyone was excited and saying that it was a once in a life time experience to see her. I was not planing on attending the event, but after hearing so many professors telling us to go, I decided that it might be a good idea. Honestly, before all the fuss about her and before the posters were placed around campus I had never heard of Margo Chase.

It was definitely a unique experience to get to see a presentation from somebody of the caliber of Margo Chase. The thing that stood out the most from her presentation was the fact that she did so much research for her projects. Some professors at CSUN love to encourage reasearch to the point of becoming cliche. I know that research is important, and after this presentation I realized that there really is no better way to prepare designs. Seeing the type of research that Margo Chase and her people also changed my mind about how I should do my own research. She had everything from charts to word list; and it was only the beginning of her process.

Another thing I’m going to remember is the video that showed some of her work. There were things that I recognized, but I was not aware that they were  Margo Chase designs. The little that I did know about Margo Chase was that she was known for her goth style. She could have very easily stayed in that niche for a very long time, but she demonstrated that she does not only have one specific design style. For example, the Chinese Laundry logo and brand showcased a style very different from her goth style. That has to be very encouraging for an aspiring designer, as long as you challenge yourself to have different styles you will not become irrelevant in the graphic design market.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

poster_redo

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine Gonda  |  October 25, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    a lot of improvement and I like the like the look you’re going for. I don’t think you need that bar at the bottom with patterns unless it has importance to the film. Try it without it? or maybe just a solid bar?

    Reply
  • 2. Christine Gonda  |  October 25, 2010 at 4:39 PM

    It made a difference when you illustrated them. I like it! I don’t think you need that bar at the bottom with patterns unless it has importance to the film. Try it without it? or maybe just a solid bar?

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts